"It's A Good Thing You Did It While You Are Young"

tummytuck

Those are the words I heard the plastic surgeon said Friday when I went for my consult. I explained that I had lost 100lbs starting January 2008 and got to 160 by Pride (end of June) last year, and have maintained a weight in the 150-140s ever since then. He explained that it was a good thing that I lost the weight when my body is still young enough to heal and not be so stretched out.

If I would of let myself go and not lost the weight when I did, I might be left with more extreme measures, but as it turns out my procedure won’t even be THAT major. Now any time you go under the knife it is a big and life threatening experience, but I don’t need a a belt lipectomy, I just need a simple tummy tuck. The surgeon will remove an amount of skin from the top of my belly button down to my public hair from hip bone to hip bone. The skin from my chest will then be pulled down and reattached to the lower part, thus making a flatter, tighter toroso.

Sounds sort of painful, but it is something that I’ve wanted for years.

I explained where I work and what I wanted out of the procedure. He even tried to explain to me that if I got lipo on my sides and chest that the results would be less than desirable and I would end up with flappy areas of skin. I was shocked that he wasn’t trying to “upsell” me, but rather turned me away with good reason on certain procedures.

The cost for this surgery will be signifigantly less than the full lower body lift I had origionally thought of. He is going to mail me a full quote, and I am going to see another few doctors for other opinions, but he extimated his fee at $5,000, the hospital fee of $1,300 plus $300/hour, and the anesthesiologist fee of $150/hour. I am thinking the cost will be around $7,000-$9,000 (which seems to be the average on most local doctor’s sites I’ve seen).

I still don’t have the funds for the surgery, and with my paycheck as it is this week, and with all the Pride activities, iPhone 3GS purchase, etc I won’t be able to afford my rent this month, so my plans of moving out are unchanged. In order to save up the needed $7,000 minimum, I estimate 3 1/2 months if I didn’t spend a single dime, but more likely 5-6 months living without an apartment. underworld

Any help that you can provide will be appreciated. I will have donation buttons on the site soon, and if you have a sleeping bag, pillow, side project, part time job, an Atkins friendly meal, or place to let me crash for a night or two it would be GREATLY appreciated. It is going to be a long ~6 months, but I hope to make the best of it, and can’t wait to see the results of my dedication and efforts. The doctor took before shots, and I will see about taking some myself and posting the progress.

I also will be working out quite a bit more, and concentrating on my upper chest to get that in a presentable condition so that by the time I have my surgery I will feel comfortable with my shirt off at the beach, pool, or at some circuit party. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go to Gus Presents Underworld party (I have a huge underwear fettish), but been too scared to with my current looks. Underworld will be the first event I go to post surgery healing with my new toroso. I am so excited and can’t wait for what the future has in store.

P.S. The picture of the before/after is not me, but a picture from the surgeon I saw today’s site.

4 thoughts on “"It's A Good Thing You Did It While You Are Young"

  1. I still think you could build up the muscle in your midsection to fill out the skin. I was 285 lbs once too… Big as a house. Now… I’m lean and muscular. BUT IT TOOK A LOT OF REALLY HARD WORK. It did NOT include fatty fried wings and fatty hamburger patties. I actually studied the best, most effective way to lose weight and keep it off in the long run.

    Anyway, I’m done talking to you or reading about this homeless shit. Your priorities are so self-destructive that I can’t be a witness to it anymore. And why do you think other people should pay for your homeless stint, via free room and board, food… Why don’t you just keep your house and make the donation button about your procedure. Geez. (And the new iPhone is more important than paying your landlord? Oy.)

    Bye, Nick. I’ll be nice when I see you, cause I really think you’re a nice guy… But fuckin’ A. I can’t read about how you are destroying your life because you’re lazy.

  2. Be smart Nick, instead of relying on someone feeling pity for you and letting you leech of their paychecks so you can save up for this foolish operation, you could get a cheaper place to stay, rent a room, save up for longer run. FORGET DRINKING SO MUCH ALCOHOL and eating healthy, working out… you know the drill. and you dont need a damn iphone either. Get your priorities straight, this “going homeless crap” is stupid. I love ya but you are being dumb.

  3. I’m not trying to be a jerk, but you need to take care of your mental health before your physical appearance. Being homeless shouldn’t be an option; it will only worsen your mental state.

    It’s respectable you want to look better, but with the money you’re spending on new phones, tech gadgets, going out, etc. you could save up to do this in a few years and not totally screw yourself mentally in the process.

  4. Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen you! I just moved back to FL and was wondering how you’d been doing.

    Congrats on the weight loss!

    First, if you want the surgery, I say it’s worth a try. I’ve blown over 80k on law school, so in the grand scheme of life 9K for a surgery isn’t that bad.

    I’m not sure about homelessness as an option. I wouldn’t do it, but that’s your call.

    I just have a word of warning.

    When I started high school I was really overweight. I’d probably been made fun of just as much as you. I thought if I lost weight it’d change. I started working out and was in great shape and looked great. Unfortunately, although I wasn’t made fun of as much, it didn’t make that much difference and I still felt bad a lot.

    The problem wasn’t me, but the people I was around. What finally made me feel better was finding new friends to be around who loved and accepted me no matter how I looked. That worked WAY better than changing my appearance. The positive affirmations from other people made all the difference.

    I’ve gained back a lot of weight, but it doesn’t matter that much, because I know people care about me regardless. I should note that I will be trying to work out more so I am healthier, not so I am more accepted.

    So, just be aware that you might still have struggles after the surgery. I think that you should put in as much effort improving your relationships as you do improving your appearance. Looking good won’t matter at all if you’re still spending too much time with shallow people. Really, why would you want to be friends with people who judge you based on your appearance?

    I know you’re already a great guy, but if you have trouble making those kinds of friends, keep looking until you find them! They’re there! The philosophy I used was that until I’d tried every possible option, I had no right to complain. I tried about a zillion things, but eventually it worked!

    In the mean time, make an effort to be the kind of person you’d want to be friends with. Redouble your efforts at thinking about other people’s needs, making an effort always to be there for them no matter what they’ve done for you. At the end of the day, our bodies rot in the ground. What lasts is a loving heart and a caring spirit. God doesn’t care how you looked. “Not as man sees does God see, because man sees the appearance but the LORD looks into the heart.” (1 Sam 16:7).

Leave a Reply

