Robbed…again

As if life couldn’t get any worse, last night my car was broken into and ALL of my clothes were taken out of my vehicle. I don’t know what to say. I literally now have 2 pairs of jeans and the clothes on my back.

Let me try to re-cap the day if I can. I have been a bit down and depressed due to recently being broken into and robbed of my laptop and most of my gadgets. I was however meeting with a photographer from the NY Times about a story they are working on regarding Twitter. I left work (I work in Novato), and went into the city (SF). We meet up and walked around taking pictures “around town.” Some of the shots he had me posing in situations where I would never be “twittering,” like on a MUNI bench, and other different posing positions, like my leg up on a step looking off into the distance. Either way it was fun and the photographer said the shots and the scenery were great. The story should run soon, but I don’t have a set date yet.

After leaving there, I went and parked my car between 8th and 9th, one block south of Market in SF. I walked over to my PO Box, which I found is closed at 5:30pm on the weekdays, so I will have to wait to get my mail till weekends. I decide just to walk around a bit more, as I now have no laptop and nothing to do at night. I make my way over to a Subway, and grab a diet soda. I then head into the Apple Store for about 1 1/2 hours. I putz around online for a bit, and talk to an employee there to try to psych myself that it will be okay to downgrade from a MacBook Pro to a MacBook.

As if life couldn't get any worse

I left and headed back towards my car, and I see someone (seemingly homeless) looking at my car funny. I begin to prepare myself for what is to come. I see the trunk is left open in my car, and a suitcase is on the ground. I see a hoodie (not one of mine)over the back passenger window. The guy says, “Well at least they didn’t break the glass.” I pull back the hoodie to find the picture above. The glass was broken and my car was yet again robbed…4 days after it had just been. This person obviously was homeless, as they took BOTH of my laundry baskets of freshly cleaned and folded clothes. They took my only coat, my Bose QC3 ($350) headphones (of which the battery and charger were taken last time), they took the spices out of the side compartments of my car, they went thru my glove box, they tried to take my stereo and Harmon/Kardon Drive+Play. They took everything they could get their hands on. I had a bag of small technology items in my trunk, I had my nice Kenneth Cole watch in the trunk, I had a power inverter for my car in the trunk, they robbed me blind.

I honestly didn’t know what to do. I sat there in my car for what seemed like an eternity. I saw a homeless person down an alley, and went and offered him free beer if he saw anything. He hadn’t, and I couldn’t see any of my belongings in his LARGE stash.

I drove to the nearest police station and they gave a piece of paper to fill out a claim online. They said that cars get robbed all the time in the city, even right outside of the police station in broad daylight.

As if life couldn't get any worse


I now am left with virtually nothing. I had my iPhone and an old 2 gig nano on me, and only had the nano with me because I don’t have a computer to load it up with Opie and Anthony episodes.

I try to maintain an even demeanor most of the time, at least what you can see on the outside, but today I am a broken man. I have no faith in humanity, and there honestly doesn’t seem like there is anything that I can do to escape the evil surrounding me.

That being said, those that have donated do show me that there is a bit of humanity left in this world, I just don’t think any of it lives in San Francisco. Last night James from MadPod let me stay on his couch and gave me a few pieces of clothing up in Novato. I don’t plan on going back down towards SF anytime soon. I was going to an event tonight, but will not be attending. I don’t want anything to do with SF, and am staying as far away as I can for now.

Now, I try to pick up the few pieces of my life that are left and move on. I will be looking for a roommate situation or a cheap studio in the North Bay area (ie San Rafael, Novato, Petaluma, etc). Because of how the donations work, I don’t have access to them instantly, I need to wait for them to transfer to my bank account, but I need to verify my bank account, which takes a few days. So, I currently still am in the negative as far as finances go. My first paycheck won’t be arriving till November, so hopefully I can live up this way with a broken window until then.

Thank you everyone for your support in this VERY difficult time of my life.

9 thoughts on “Robbed…again

  1. Thought about living in a parking garage? might be more safe. Pity SF isn’t working out, you seemed so excited about living there… :/

  2. I sense conspirasy. I sense someone offering you much needed help in several days, then staying with him/her for several months. So predictable.

  3. πŸ˜†
    I can’t help but laugh, though I genuinely feel sorry for you.
    This is why an apartment/house/anywhere but the hiundai is important, with the money you get from your fund get a nice place to stay, I just donated $15 and I don’t want that going towards anything else.

    Oh, and the G6 Lite sucks as far as flashcarts go, go with the M3 Lite Perfect next time.

  4. Was my original message a bit to harsh for you to deal with? Grow up and stop censoring your comments, both here and over at the narcissistic wank fest at “life as nick starr.” Bank accounts in the negative? Get a credit card and deal with unfortunate events like the rest of the world–suck it up, stop begging for things you don’t need, and quit being such an overall coward.

  5. Hey Nick, just saw your Twitter post – have you tried finding furniture via the local FreeCycle group? Search on http://www.freecycle.org

    I’ve donated stuff to my local group before – you can get everything on there! You can request specific things in case someone has something, or see if someone already has it. You can get some furniture for free! The recycling idea is brilliant.

    And the lovely Dawn Miceli is a big fan of Goodwill – we don’t have them in the UK but we have similar, you can pick up lots of homewares etc there?

  6. Somehow i cant bring myself to feel sorry for you.

    You have nowhere to stay but a car and you’re spending all this money buying gadgets and really expensive ones too.

    Macbooks, nanos, iphones … how about a 2nd hand phone that doesnt come with a 24 month contract?

    Instead of worrying about where you’re gonna be staying next you running around posting letters on google buildings.

    I see you’ve got your priorities straight. Good luck and find a place to stay.

    Next time, someone might rob you at gun or knifepoint or rob you of your car.

  7. πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜• πŸ˜• πŸ˜• πŸ˜‰ 😳 😳 😳 😳 ❓ ❓ ❓ ❗ ❗ ❗ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: 😐 😐 😐 😐 HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY Dude just to tell ya, i actually robbed your car it was so cool! I even got some friends to do it with me. And just to tell ya i’m not homles

Leave a Reply

