Google Hosted Office

Google announced today a beta version of Google Apps for Your Domain, which includes Gmail with 2 gigabytes of storage, Google Calendar, Google Talk and Page Creator.

The new service is an extension of Gmail for Your Domain, a service that Google launched in beta version in February. It allows organizations to use Gmail applications with their own e-mail address, instead of the “@gmail.com” domain.

I’ve been using Gmail for my Domain’s email, and it works flawlessly. I think this is the perfect option for a small business looking to find a cheaper entry into the Office Suite of products. I don’t know why they don’t include Google Spreadsheets and Writely, but I’m sure in the future they will be offered.

If you already have Gmail for your Domain, you can simply go into and Manage your domain, and add these new features. I have tried to access my Calendar which isn’t up and working yet.

I don’t think I want to use Google Pages to change my entire domain, but i do have a Google Talk account that is me (at) NickStarr.com, instead of just the NickStarr (at) gmail.com account.

Leave a Reply

