Gmail + Gtalk audio notification

I heard a sound from my computer like a new Gtalk im was coming in, but I was logged into Gmail…huh? Apparently there is now audio notifications when you get a new IM ….thru the web. It uses Flash to accomplish this. I can’t figure out if I like it or not yet, but you can turn it off under the options.

Log in to your Gmail account.
Click Settings at the top of any Gmail page.
Open the Chat tab.
In the Sounds section, select Disable.
Click Save Changes.

One thought on “Gmail + Gtalk audio notification

  1. i found it super annoying… especially since it didn’t obey any of my sound settings. it wouldn’t go to my headphones, and overall system volume control had no power over it. and since i was still logged into gmail on another computer, the setting to turn it off didn’t stick until i closed it down on the other computer.

Leave a Reply

