The Daily Show with Nick Starr

2014-04-24 (1)

[Update: Here’s the video and Behind The Scenes Photos] Okay that title might sound a bit presumptuous, but you have to say something to shock people into clicking on the link on Facebook or Twitter to read this… I mean blogs aren’t what they used to be. No one reads these long paragraphs anymore.

As some of you might’ve noticed, my partner Brian and I went to San Francisco back in May for a day. Flew in on a Wednesday night, were put up in a hotel, and flown back the next evening. My ticket was paid for by Viacom, the parent company of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Brian was able to go because a friend helped us out with a buddy ticket.

20140424_120935

Why was TDS flying me out to SF? Well turns out my public incidents with Google Glass caught their attention and the day that Google Glass was publicly available they started thinking about a segment gathering people who have had public incidents with Google Glass.

I spoke with them every day or so via email and phone till eventually  they said here’s your plane ticket and hotel. See you in 2 days.

2014-04-24 (2)

I wasn’t sure who else was going to be there or even who was going to interview us. Turns out they gathered a great cast of Glass Explorers.

 

20140424_114911_632-SMILE (1)

We all met, some or most of us for the first time in a hotel conference room where there were large lights, cameras, and a panel of 6 chairs. Some makeup and mic checks and we were ready to go. They sat me front row center and in walked Jason Jones from TDS. He sat in front of us and asked us questions for 3 1/2 hours. We all answered honestly and seriously, but this is The Daily Show. They are bound to turn it around and make us look funny, but we all knew that going into it. Everyone had a different reason for being there. Some to get their story out, some to help educate, and some because how many times in your life is The Daily Show going to seek you out? As in most of the interactions I have with others about Google Glass, I wanted to help educate what the device can and can’t do and explain the limitations and future for the device. Trying to show others why it is so amazing and how it will fit into their lives.

Well I can’t say if a few of these moments will make it in, but at one point Jason and I did a speed test to see who could Google him first. Him with his iPhone and me with Google Glass. At this point, I totally spaced his name and said, “Ok Glass, Google John.” He claims that he narrowly beat me, but also that, “He actually Googled the right person.” I also offered my Google Glass to him to try on and use, which he did and the producer seemed to really like that idea, BUT there was no cell signal nor WiFi where we were so he couldn’t actually do anything online with it.

2014-04-24

At one point he was stating that they are ugly as fuck and unfashionable. I tried to rebut by saying that they have been in Vogue and on various runways. He says, “yeah but you all still look like unfashionable douchey fucks.” I replied that, “Fashion is subjective” and he looks over at the camera and does an eye roll. I actually hope that part makes it, especially since I wear the same thing every single day it is a bit odd for me to be talking about fashion.

All in all it was a great trip and experience. We crammed in as many visits with SF friends as we could and tonight the episode airs. Set your DVRs, check Hulu.com tomorrow or The Daily Show’s website. No matter how the editing comes out, I had a great once in a lifetime experience and wouldn’t had changed a thing.

20140424_092905_158

I say all of this BEFORE I’ve actually seen the episode TONIGHT. I might have have a different opinion once it airs.

4 thoughts on “The Daily Show with Nick Starr

  1. The interview was awesome….I’m an actress and I was torn between, “Yes, these are normal people (actors call them ‘civilians’) being interviewed.” and “Nooo, these answers are scripted, the timing is perfect and they are being delivered perfectly dry.” Acting technique now is extremely natural, it’s very hard to do, it’s a skill. Editing is a skill too. I thoroughly enjoyed the segment. It was very funny. It’s a virtue to be able to laugh at ourselves with appreciation of our uniqueness that makes us stand out. I wouldn’t have been offended at all, I’d be ROFLAO watching myself and praise the Editor. Congratulations, you have been handed a ‘ball’ – run with it! Make this work for you!

Leave a Reply

