My Life In Song

9 02 2010

Recently there has been a few various instances where my life has been summarized in song lyrics or a quote from a tv character, like this one from American Dad about a week ago:

However, there has never been an entire song where I felt as if it were written by me, word for word. There’s been songs where bits and pieces fit my life, but Lily Allen managed to capture my life in her song 22. Here’s the music video, lyrics, or listen to the whole song here (iLike):

More Lily Allen music on iLike

When she was 22 the future looked bright
But she’s nearly 30 now and she’s out every night
I see that look in her face, she’s got that look in her eye
She’s thinking how did I get here and wondering why

It’s sad but it’s true how society says her life is already over
There’s nothing to do and there’s nothing to say
‘Til the man of her dreams comes along
Picks her up and puts her over his shoulder
It seems so unlikely in this day and age

She’s got an alright job but it’s not a career
Whenever she thinks about it, it brings her to tears
Cause all she wants is a boyfriend, she gets one night stands
She’s thinking how did I get here, I’m doing all that I can

It’s sad but it’s true how society says her life is already over
There’s nothing to do and there’s nothing to say
‘Til the man of her dreams comes along
Picks her up and puts her over his shoulder
It seems so unlikely in this day and age

It’s sad but it’s true how society says her life is already over
There’s nothing to do and there’s nothing to say
‘Til the man of her dreams comes along
Picks her up and puts her over his shoulder
It seems so unlikely in this day and age


http://www.lala.com/external/flash/SingleSongWidget.swf

Actions

Information

One response

9 02 2010
Adam

Wow. Having known you for so long, I completely agree. What a powerful song that speaks so much about what you’re going through.

I also saw that episode of American Dad and thought the same thing. It made me laugh really hard.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

